AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

Critical Care Medicine Section Meeting

Denver October 28, 2019 **Minutes**

Participants

Section members participating included: Nicholas M Mohr, MD, FACEP, chair; Arvin Akhavan, MD; Dorian Alexander, MD; Ani Aydin, MD, FACEP; Angela Barskaya, MD; Emily S. Bartlett, MD; Daren Beam, MD; Tanya Belle, MD; Alexander Bracey, MD; Ian Butler, MD; Sal Calo, MD; Kene A Chukwuanu, MD; Sara Crager, MD; Alexander J. Davies, MD; Marie-Carmelle Elie, MD, FACEP; Lillian Emlet, MD, FACEP; Daniel Eraso, MD; Emily C. Esposito, DO; Jay Falk, MD; Jeremy Gonda, MD; Mina Ghobrial, MD; Nicholas Goodmanson, MD; Emily Gundert, MD; Daniel Haase, MD; Jean Hoffman, MD; Christopher Hogan, MD; Paul Jansson, MD, MS; Namita Jayaprakash, MD; Nick Johnson, MD; Christopher Kabrhel, MD; Harish Kinni, MD; Jason Kirkness; Julieta Lacey, MD; Jarone Lee, MD; Evan Leibner, MD; Randall Levin, MD; Spencer Lord, MD; Rebecca Lowy, MD; Fraser Mackay, MD; James Makinen, MD; Patrick Maher, MD; Evie G Marcolini, MD, FACEP, Julie Mayglothling Winkle, MD, Tsuyoshi, Mitarai, MD, FACEP; Matthew Mitchell, MD, FACEP; Timothy Montrief, MD; Nick Mohr, MD, FACEP; Matthew Dean Mueller, DO, MPH; Youho Mun, MD; Shyam Murali, MD; Matthew Nichols, MD; Tiffany Osborn, MD, FACEP; Clark Owyang, MD; Katherine A Pollard, MD, Christina Prucnal; Mark Ramzy, DO; Doug Schiller, DO; Todd Seigel, MD, Ayan Sen, MD, FACEP; Christopher Shaw, MD; Dell Simmons, MD; Lane Smith, MD; Patrick Stone, MD; Matthew J Stull, MD; Samantha S Strickler, DORade Vukmir, MD, JD, FACEP; Brian Todd Wessman, FACEP, FCCM, FACEP; Susan Wilcox, MD, FACEP; and Gregory Phillip Wu, MD

Others participating included: James Augustine, MD, FACEP; Board Liaison; and Margaret Montgomery, staff liaison.

Agenda

Welcome Reports Section Awards Educational Presentations

Major Points Discussed

Dr. Mohr welcomed everyone to the section meeting.

Board Liaison: Dr. Augustine reported that the College has focused on the issue of out of network billing which has been in the news of late as well as issues related to opioid use disorders. A Task Force was appointed by Dr. Friedman is looking at the roles of NPs and PAs in the ED. Dr. Jaquis the current ACEP President has appointed a technology committee. A HIT Summit was held this summer and a permanent committee was appointed.

Dr. Augustine presented a certificate of appreciation to Nick Mohr, MD, FACEP for his service as the CCM Section chair over the last 2 years. He also presented an award for Outstanding Newsletter to Ani Aydin, MD as newsletter editor.

Chair Report: Dr. Mohr provided a recap of the section activities. He recognized the ongoing work of the EM/CCM Employment Task Force and noted that the development of an information paper authored by members of ACEP and SCCM on ED ICU Boarding is nearing completion. Webinars developed through an ACEP section grant on Employment for dually trained physicians are being posted on the ACEP website as they are completed. Look for those on the Section website. The Section website has been updated and revised and section members were encouraged to check it out. A consensus document on the one-hour sepsis bundle for the ED is in development with planned publication in the coming year. He also noted that the Rising Star lectures are continuing this year providing section members the opportunity to lecture to a larger national audience.

Councillor Report: Dr. Sen noted that there was a resolution on sepsis at the Council meeting related to the CMS Core Measures. This resolution was referred to the ACEP Board to be addressed.

Chair-elect: Dr. Wilcox shared that last year the section held a pre-conference workshop on ED-ICU Development and Operations. The conference was well received and there is consideration to hold another pre-conference in Dallas in October 2020. A topic under consideration is ECMO Implementation for EM. A survey will be sent to the section to determine interest.

EM/CCM Employment TF Chair: Dr. Strickler shared the work of the Task Force. The Task Force is moving forward with a website that will provide open access for networking with other EM/CCM trained physicians. The TF also focused on providing information on contracts for dually trained physicians, mentorship resources, and letters for promotion. A paper is in development to share the information that has been compiled by the Task Force.

Dr. Owyang will serve as the chair of the EM/CCM Employment TF for the coming year.

Newsletter Editor: Dr. Aydin encouraged section members to submit articles for the newsletter. Topics suggested included: recap of meetings attended, highlight journal articles, or spotlight on fellowship programs. She also asked if there was any interest in serving as associate editors for the newsletter.

ABEM Representative: Dr. Reisdorff, Executive Director for ABEM shared information about the changes for certification and it is now possible to recertify through the subspecialty board alone. It was cautioned that if primary board certification lapses and you choose to go back after 5 years it will be necessary to take the CONCERT as well as oral exams again. It was announced that the American board of Surgery has been approved to offer a pathway for diplomates of ABEM to obtain subspecialty certification in surgical critical care. This pathway is designed to increase the pool of physician eligible for SCC certification. EM-trained individual must complete a year as an advanced preliminary resident in surgery at the institution where they will enroll in the SCC fellowship. Former surgical residents who completed 2 or more progressive years of surgical residency prior to EM training is exempt from the preliminary year requirement. They may apply to any SCC fellowship program.

Web-site Editor: Dr. Johnson showed the website and the updates that have been made and encouraged section members to let him know if there are any changes needed. He noted that the Section Twitter Account has been active. EngagED is also a tool to communicate for section members but it does require a password.

EMRA: Dr. Belle shared that EMRA has a mentorship program and encouraged section members to check it out and to also sign up to be a mentor. She also shared that EMRA has a Resuscitative TEE workshop at SA this year.

Election Results: Section leader elections were held via electronic ballot. Dr. Mohr announced the results. The following officers were elected to serve for the next 2 years.

Chair-elect: Nick Johnson, MD Newsletter Editor: Kate Pollard, MD Website Editor: Clark Owyang, MD Nick Mohr, MD, FACEP will serve as immediate past chair Susan Wilcox, MD, FACEP will serve as chair.

The following presentations were provided:

Rising Star Speakers

- Paul S. Jansson, MD, MS: The CAR-T Cytokine Storm
- Emily S. Bartlett, MD: Targeted Temp. Management
- Gregory P. Wu, MD: Teaching an Old Drug New Tricks: New Paradigms in Alcohol Withdrawal

PE Response Team Panel

- Chris Kabrhel, MD; Massachusetts General Hospital
- Emily Gundert, MD; UT Southwestern
- Daren Beam, MD; Indiana University

Career Development Panel

Fraser Mackay, MD Contract Negotiations

• Ayan Sen, MD, FACEP Role of the Chair in Employment

Brian Wessman, MD, FACEP Basics of Finding a Job

With no further business to discuss the meeting was adjourned by Dr. Mohr. Attendees proceeded to the social hour sponsored by Teleflex.