# **American College of Emergency Physicians**

Section of Tactical Emergency Medicine Membership Meeting Tuesday, October 27, 2020 2:00-4:00 pm Central Time

VIRTUAL Join Zoom Meeting <a href="https://acep.zoom.us/j/92925414851?pwd=SGNwK2w3bGVzQnI4T3k3aTc5U2IwZz09">https://acep.zoom.us/j/92925414851?pwd=SGNwK2w3bGVzQnI4T3k3aTc5U2IwZz09</a>

### **Minutes**

#### **Section Officers in attendance:**

John Wipfler, MD, FACEP (Chair); Brian Lee Springer, MD, FACEP (Chair-Elect); David Wayne Callaway, MD, FACEP (Immediate Past Chair); Keegan D Bradley, MD, EMT/T (Secretary/Newsletter Co-Editor); Amado Alejandro Baez, MD, MPH, FACEP (Councillor); Ameen Mohammad Jamali, MD, FACEP (Alternative Councillor); David Q McArdle, MD, FACEP (2nd Alternative Councillor); Dominique Wong, MD (Newsletter Editor); Jeffrey Michael Goodloe, MD, FACEP (Board Liaison)

#### **Section Members and Guest in attendance:**

Andre Michael Pennardt, MD, FACEP; Andrew Khalifa, MD; Ayman Abed Allateef Nassar, MD; Bassem Alhadi, MD; Bassem Alhadi, MD; Benjamin Archambeau, DO, FAWM; Brandon B Morshedi, MD, DPT, FACEP; Charles William Olson, Jr, MD; Christopher Michael Wend; Daniel Schwartz, MD; David P Neubert, MD; David S Kugler, MD, MPH, FACEP; David Sanford, MD; David Snell, MD; David Wayne Callaway, MD, FACEP; E. Reed Smith, MD, FACEP; El Fadil Dafalla, MD; Eligio S V Maghirang, MD; Eric Vaughan, MD, FACEP; Fabrice Czarnecki, MD, MA, MPH; Faroukh Mehkri, DO; Francis Sakita, MD; Gary R Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP; Geraldo Pio; Gina Piazza, DO, FACEP; Guilherme Pozueco Zaffari, MD; Harry Eugene Sibold, MD, FACEP; Howard K Mell, MD, MPH, CPE, FACEP; James Phillips, MD, FACEP; James R Waymack, MD, FACEP; Jason A Kegg, MD, FACEP; Jason R Pickett, MD, FACEP; Jason Roosa, MD, FACEP; Jeffrey Uribe, MD; John Gerard McManus, Jr, MD, FACEP; John Wiesenfarth, MD, FACEP; Jon R Krohmer, MD, FACEP; Jon Ralph Gildea, DO, FACEP; Jordan Selzer, MD; Jose Osvaldo Alba, MD; Joseph Kennedy; Justin C Eisenman, DO, MS, FACEP; Justin W Fairless, DO, FAEMS, FACEP; Katarzyna Moorthi, MD; Kermit David Huebner, MD, FACEP; Marc J Dumas, MD, FACEP; Marc Jay Estes, MD, FACEP; Marc P Kanter, MD, FACEP; Margaret Loewen, MD; Marla D Golden, DO, FACEP; Matthew R Sutter, MD, FACEP; Michael Mehran Neeki, DO, FACEP; Mohammed Ali Saif, MD; Myla Eijansantos, RN; Nisbet Samuel Ebenezer, MD; Oliver JP Barnyak, MD; Peter Vu Bui, MD; Richard A Kamin, MD, FACEP; Robert Howard, MD; Sarayna S McGuire, MD; Sergio Vie; Sriram Venkatesan; Stephen A DuMontier, MD; Tayna Rodrigues Wandeur, MD; Tripp Smith

# **ACEP staff and Board Members in attendance:**

Rick Murray, EMT/P, Director EMS & Disaster Preparedness (Staff Liaison); Patrick Elmes, EMT/P (ACEP Staff); Deanna Harper, EMT-I (Support Staff); Arvind Venkat, MD, FACEP (Board Member); Cynthia A. Singh, MS (ACEP Staff); Mary Ellen Fletcher (ACEP Staff)

#### **AGENDA**

I. Opening Remarks and Introductions

David Callaway, MD, FACEP

II. Section Business

David Callaway, MD, FACEP

· Board Liaison Update

Jeffrey Goodloe, MD, FACEP

Spoke on the topics of the High Threat EMS Subcommittee's importance, general Board updates and issues, and reported ACEP's highest membership ever, now in excess of 40,000 members.

· Councilor Report

Howie Mell, MD, MPH, FACEP

Dr. Mell reported on the failure/success of TEMS related council resolutions. He highlighted the importance of TEMS SME discussing policing-related issues with other sections in order to educate and shape opinion. Dr. Mell gave his thanks to the section for allowing him to serve for many years.

· Staff Liaison Update

Rick Murray, EMT-P

Section now has 476 members, just below the average for all sections (500).

· Secretary Report

James Phillips, MD, FACEP

Praise to newsletter editors and contributors. Thank you to section as planning to step down from future positions in section. Described new ACEP TEMS Meritorious Service Award process.

· Chair Elect

John Wipfler, MD, FACEP

Praise to the leadership team, provided updates on section website including members only portion and recent membership survey.

· Chair

David Callaway, MD, FACEP

Discussed how engaging ACEP and other sections regarding policy is key. Discussed goal of website and educational resources for members only, including availability of templates for MOUs.

III. Presentations (20-minute presentation, 10 minute Q&A)

TacMed Support of Civil Disturbance (Portland) Morgan West

TEMS Support for Civil Disturbance (Austin)

Jason Pickett

Riots and laser-related eye injuries John Wipfler

The theme of the lectures this year focused on the responses to civil disturbances (CD) seen nationwide this year and lessons learned from them as the election approaches and the possibility for more disturbances grows. Portland has seen 150 straight days of CD

and Flight Paramedic / Officer West described their special CD-TEMS unit and this unique subset of tactical medicine. Dr. Pickett discussed fire injuries, the pluses and minuses of 'street medics,' and the many challenges prehospital and TEMS in Austin, Texas. Dr. Wipfler discussed the dangers of publicly available lasers and the eye damage they can cause. Highlights were his video demonstration of blue laser power, medical management of laser eye injuries, and prevention with cost-effective laser-resistant eye protection. His lecture will be available soon on the members-only section of the website.

# IV. Partner Society Updates (5 minutes each)

· NTOA

Jason Pickett, MD

*Topics: Ketamine and TEMS Course during COVID, other updates.* 

International Association Chiefs of Police

David McCardle, MD

March 17-19 Wellness Conference announced. See the IACP website (iacpconference.org) for details. If interested in presenting, contact <u>watson@iacp.org</u>. We look forward to increased cooperation.

· C-TECC

Rich Kamin, MD

The committee is still functioning despite COVID19. Dec  $3^{rd}$  is the next meeting, see Facebook and Twitter media for details.

· SOMA

Faroukh Mehkri, MD

SOMA is also still functioning despite COVID 19. Assorted topics discussed.

V. Award Presentation TME Leadership Award

David Callaway, MD, FACEP

Dr. Nelson Tang won the award this year. He was unable to attend virtually but sent an acceptance statement that was read by the Chair.

VI. Section Officer election results

David Callaway, MD, FACEP

Chair Elect – Brian Springer

Secretary – Keegan Bradley

Alternate Councilor – David McCardle

VII. Immediate Past-Chair remarks

Amado Alejandro Baez, MD

Statement read by Chair

VIII. New Section Chair remarks

John Wipfler, MD, FACEP

Certificate of appreciation for Dr. Callaway was presented by Dr. Jeff Goodloe. Dr. Wipfler gave an overview of key goals suggested by section members, challenges for the section, future plans, and gave thanks to the outgoing officers.

# IX. Adjourn

Join Zoom Meeting – <a href="https://acep.zoom.us/j/92925414851?pwd=SGNwK2w3bGVzQnI4T3k3aTc5U2IwZz09">https://acep.zoom.us/j/92925414851?pwd=SGNwK2w3bGVzQnI4T3k3aTc5U2IwZz09</a>

Meeting ID: 929 2541 4851

Telephone dial in number 877 853 5257 US Toll-free 855 880 1246 US Toll-free Meeting ID: 929 2541 4851