American College of Emergency Physicians Section of Careers in Emergency Medicine

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 9:30 am – 11:30 am San Diego, CA

MINUTES

Participating in all or part of the meeting were: James Augustine, MD, FACEP, Board Liaison; Constance J. Doyle, MD, FACEP, Alternate Councilor; Arthur B. Sanders, MD, FACEP and Sullivan K. Smith, MD, FACEP, Secretary.

Others participating: Tanya L. Downing, ACEP staff liaison; Pam Shirey, ACEP staff.

Major Points Discussed

- 1. Sullivan K. Smith, MD, FACEP, Secretary, called the meeting to order at 9:30 AM.
- 2. Attendees introduced themselves.
- 3. Dr. Smith presented the 2018 Careers in Emergency Medicine Section Longevity and Tenure Awards. Plaques and certificates will be mailed to those not present.

Longevity Award

Andrew J. Kontrick, MD, FACEP of Lake Forest, IL received the award for the longest active career in emergency medicine (43 years). Dr. Kontrick was unable to attend.

Tenure Award

Arthur B. Sanders, MD, FACEP of Tucson, AZ received the award for the longest tenure in the same emergency department (41 years).

Certificates of Recognition

Thomas L. Gray, Jr., MD, FACEP for 42 years. Dr. Gray was unable to attend.

James V. Hillman, MD, FACEP for 42 years. Dr. Hillman was unable to attend.

M. Bruce Parker, III, MD, FACEP for 40 years. Dr. Parker was unable to attend.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 AM.