The ACEP Council consists of members representing ACEP’s 53 chartered chapters (50 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia and Government Services), its sections of membership, the Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine (AACEM), the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD), the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) and the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM).

The Council elects the president-elect and four members to the Board of Directors each year and the Council Speaker and Vice Speaker every two years. The Council ensures "grassroots" involvement in ACEP's democratic decision-making process.

The Council is a deliberative body that meets once a year for two days in conjunction with the College’s annual Scientific Assembly. The Council votes on resolutions, including changes to the Bylaws, College Manual, and the Council Standing Rules, which may be submitted by any two members. Resolutions guide policy development and activities of the College. 

Whether it is a resolution or a Bylaws amendment, actions of the Council are also voted on by the Board of Directors.

2023 Council Resolutions are now being accepted through July 10 - Learn more!

View ACEP’s Leadership Event Schedule here


Council Officers

Speaker: Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, MMM, FACEP

Vice-Speaker: Melissa W. Costello, MD

Council Information

Actions on Council Resolutions

Campaign Rules (PDF)

Councillors (PDF)

Handbook (PDF)

Councillor Descriptions

Council Committees

Council Standing Rules (PDF)

Guidelines for Writing Resolutions

Council Awards

[ Feedback → ]